Previous Holders

2003: Professor L. Adele Jinadu (Nigeria); a former President of the African Association of Political Science (AAPS), Jinadu is Executive Director of the Centre for Advanced Social Science (CASS), in Port Harcourt, Nigeria.

2004: Dr. Cyril I. Obi (Nigeria); Associate Research Professor at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs and Senior Research Fellow/Programme Coordinator at the Nordic Africa Institute, Uppsala.

2005: Professor Amadu Sesay (Sierra Leone); Head of the Department of International Relations, Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria.

2006: Professor Kwame Boafo-Arthur (Ghana); Head of the Department of Political Science, University of Ghana, Legon.

2007: Professor Charles Villa-Vicencio (South Africa); Professor Emeritus at the University of Cape Town and Executive Director of the Institute for Justice and Reconciliation (IJR), Cape Town.

2008: Professor Adam Azzain Mohamed (the Sudan); Director of the Institute for the Study of Public Administration and Federal Governance at the University of Khartoum, the Sudan.

2009: Professor Yashpal Tandon (Uganda); was the Executive Director of the South Centre in Geneva until February 2009. He is currently a senior advisor to the Centre. South Centre is an intergovernmental think tank of the developing countries.

2010: Dr. Yacob Arsano (Ethiopia); Associate Professor of Political Science & International Relations at Addis Ababa University. He has also been serving as Dean of the College of Social Sciences at AAU since 2006.

2012: Dr. Pamela Mbabazi (Uganda); Associate Professor of Development studies at Mbarara University of Science & Technology and currently the Deputy Vice Chancellor.

2013: Professor Victor Adetula (Nigeria); Professor of International Relations & Development Studies at the University of Jos, Nigeria and Head of Division of Africa & Regional Integration at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, Lagos

2014: Professor Maxi Schoeman (South Africa); Head of Department of Political Sciences and Professor of International Relations at University of Pretoria, South Africa.

2015: Professor Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela (South Africa); Senior research professor for trauma, forgiveness and reconciliation at the University of the Free State, and former professor of psychology at the University of Cape Town.

2016: Professor Tim Murithi (South Africa); Extraordinary Professor of African Studies, at the Centre for African Studies, University of Free State, South Africa and Head of the Justice and Reconciliation in Africa Programme at the Institute for Justice and Reconciliation, in Cape Town.